Losing Something

About 10 years ago, I was playing a lot of harmonica. I was completely self-taught and might have had a smidge or two of talent. My dad always encouraged my musical proclivities and bought me a sweet setup with a Shure Green Bullet mic and a Peavey Classic 30 amp.

Well, a year later the mic had been stolen, but I held on to that amp for years. I used it here and there as my musical interests waxed and waned. However, somewhere over the course of the last 4 or 5 moves (some of which have been overseas), that amplifier has gone missing.

Yes, it is a nice amplifier and worth a big chunk of change (nearly $500 street price). However, it had some sentimental value as well. It had a lot of sentimental value. What’s more is that its loss is indicative of a deeper personal issue with which I struggle. I often find that I have very little sentimental attachment to people or things. I don’t seem to give a lot of love. Damn, that sounds really sappy, but it’s been a problem in my life.

Losing this amp is just a clear indication of how little concern I seem to give to things that should be important to me.

Technorati Tags:

    Leave a Reply

